ENVIRONMENTAL RESOURCES

The following links are Resources for your convenience.
(Being listed here does not constitute endorsement by Green Decade/Newton. Please see our terms of use policy.)

Ecology

Aracruz Papel — one of many paper product companies replacing rainforests around the world so we can have soft, high-end tissue products made from monoculture Eucalyptus plantations www.agrogemeos.com.br/aracruz
At this site, you can use Google Maps to scan the area around Aracruz's plant and see all the clear-cutting of the Amazon rainforest; after valuable trees are harvested/sold, eucalyptus plantations are established in the former rainforest: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aracruz_Celulose

BioGems: Saving Endangered Wild Places www.savebiogems.org

Biomess Animation of Massachusetts Forest Clearing Impacts www.maforests.org/Impacts.htm

Boston Globe – Green Living www.boston.com/lifestyle/green

Brookline Green Space Alliance  www.bgsa.net

Charles River Watershed Association (CRWA)  www.crwa.org

Clean Water Action  www.cleanwateraction.org/ma   

Conservation Law Foundation  www.clf.org

Earth Charter Initiative  www.earthcharter.org

Earth Justice  www.earthjustice.org

Friends of Hemlock Gorge   www.channel1.com/users/hemlock

Massachusetts Forests Watch website, photos, campaigns, links www.maforests.org

Natural Resources Defense Council  www.NRDC.org

Princes Rainforest Project, Prince Charles' (Great Britain) campaign to make rainforests worth more alive and intact www.rainforestsos.org

Save Our Wild Forests   www.wildforests.com

Waltham Land Trust www.walthamlandtrust.org

Wellesley Trails Committee   www.ci.wellesley.ma.us/nrc/trails/walk.htm

Wilderness Society  www.wilderness.org

Weston Forest & Trail Association   www.westonforesttrail.org

Global Warming

Cap and Trade by Annie Leonard: storyofstuff.com/capandtrade

Health & Safety

Center for Food Safety  www.foodsafetynow.org

Children‘s Environmental Health Coalition   www.checnet.org

Guide to Toxics in Cosmetics www.cosmeticsdatabase.com)

Guide to ingredients/hazards of common household products from the National Institutes of Health, Dept of Human Services, National Library of Medicine householdproducts.nlm.nih.gov

Guides to safer food, produce, plastics, and many other resources for healthier living and sustainable agriculture from Institute for Trade and Agriculture Policy (IATP) www.iatp.org/foodandhealth

Health: for health links related to pesticides and toxins, see GreenCAP resource page

Healthlink   www.healthlink.org

Institute For Children‘s Environmental Health www.iceh.org

Minnesota Department of Health  www.health.state.mn.us/divs/eh/children/index.html
Their children‘s environmental health program serves as a model for state departments of health around the country.

National Christmas Tree Association Fake vs. Real Christmas Tree Facts www.christmastree.org/faketrees.cfm

PVC: The Poison Plastic, Center for Health & Environmental Justice (CHEJ) www.besafenet.com/pvc/pvcproducts.htm

PVC Factsheets, Center for Health & Environmental Justice (CHEJ) www.chej.org/BESAFE/pvc

PVC — Reports on Hazards of PVC Production, Use, Disposal www.chej.org/BESAFE/pvc/pvcreports.htm

Sam Suds & the Case of PVC video for children www.besafenet.com/pvc/samsuds/index.htm

Toxics Action Center   www.toxicsaction.org

Toxics Use Reduction Institute (TURI)   www.turi.org 
          * TURI toxics data for your community   www.turi.org/turadata      
          * TURI community website    www.turi.org/community

Lifestyle

Conservation International EcoFootprint Survey: www.conservation.org/act/live_green/Pages/ecofootprint.aspx

Catalog Choice: Control the Catalogs You Receive in the Mail www.catalogchoice.org You have to deal with each catalog separately, and send separate emails or separate Do Not Send instructions for each catalog company. But, worth the effort if you’re determined to cut down on excess mail.

Do Not Call Registry where you can get your phone number removed from telemarketers’ lists within 31 days of registering, and file complaints against any telemarketers that still call your number. www.donotcall.gov

Do Not Mail List – to get your name/address off of mailing lists www.directmail.com/directory/mail_preference/

Chasing Green ChasingGreen.org is a consumer resource site dedicated to spreading the word that ordinary people can positively impact our world in their everyday lives. The mission of ChasingGreen.org is to encourage individuals to see how we each impact life on planet earth and to educate how each of us can make a difference in our daily lives.

Do Not Mail List – to get your name/address off of mailing lists www.directmail.com/directory/mail_preference/

Greener Every Day - greenereverydayconsulting.com
Sound advice about sustainable living and personal assistance creating greener lifestyles and homes.

Organizations (including government)

American P.I.E. (Public Information on the Environment)  www.AmericanPIE.org

Environmental League of Massachusetts www.environmentalleague.org

Greater Boston Physicians for Social Responsibility (GBPSR)  psr.igc.org  

Legislators:

Need a name?  www.wheredoivotema.com.
Need phone numbers? 
Senate numbers are listed at www.state.ma.us/legis/memmenus.htm  
House numbers are listed at www.state.ma.us/legis/memmenuh.htm

Massachusetts Department of Food and Agriculture  www.state.ma.us/dfa

MASSPIRG  (Massachusetts Public Interest Research Group)  www.masspirg.org

Newton Organizations and Government

Angino Farm Group (Newton Community Farm) www.newtonconservators.org/communityfarm.pdf 

City of Newton   www.ci.newton.ma.us

Newton Conservators, Inc. www.newtonconservators.org

National Association of Environmental Law Societies  www.naels.org

Recycling

City of Newton Reusable Materials Exchange, www.2good2waste.org/newton

Building Materials Resource Center www.bostonbmrc.org

Bottled vs. Tap Water - Oregon DEQ Study on Environmental/Health Impacts of Each www.deq.state.or.us/news/prDisplay.asp?docID=3149

Electronics Recycling Resources

Collective Good Cell & Mobile Phone Recycling w/ proceeds to charity www.collectivegood.com

Buy/Sell Used Electronics (responsibly sent for reuse or recycling) www.gazelle.com

Database of e-waste recycling programs www.mygreenelectronics.org

Product Policy Institute provides extensive technical assistance and support in formation of state Product Stewardship Councils and passage of framework legislation www.productpolicy.org

Story of Stuff with Annie Leonard: www.storyofstuff.com

The Three Rs Still Rule (NRDC) www.nrdc.org/thisgreenlife/0802.asp

Miscellaneous

Energy:  for various energy links, see Energy resource page

Environmental Defense  www.environmentaldefense.org

Environmental Science Program  www.newtonenvisci.org  
A unique summer program that lets students enjoy exploring the wilderness while learning about the environment

Environmental Working Group   www.ewg.org

Federation of Massachusetts Farmers‘ Markets  www.massfarmersmarkets.org

Green Buildings: for green buildings issues, see High Performance Buildings resource page

Newton-Needham Chamber of Commerce  www.nnchamber.com

Northeast Organic Farming Association  www.nofamass.org

Our Stolen Future www.ourstolenfuture.org

Pesticides and Organic Gardening, see our greenCAP resource page

Silent Spring Institute (environment & women‘s health) www.silentspring.org

Soil Test (U MASS)    www.umass.edu/plsoils/soiltest

 

Back to Top                                           Home